You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra Dragons prop Leeson Ah Mau has been named recipient of the Club’s ‘Player of the Year’ Medal at the annual end of season Presentation Night on Sunday.

The Toa Samoa international, who was selected by both his peers and coaching staff, made 657 tackles and 2,857 metres in total this season and was the sole Dragons player to feature in all 25 first-grade fixtures.

Dragons five-eighth Gareth Widdop ended the season as the Club’s highest try and points scorer, with nine tries and 182 points respectively, and secured his second consecutive Red V Members ‘Player of the Year’ Award.

Representative fullback Josh Dugan was for the second-time awarded the Dragons Immortals Trophy, as selected by the St George living Immortals in consultation with the Clubs Coaching Staff, after meeting the Immortals’ criteria of demonstrating commitment, dedication and the right attitude to the Club.

Additionally, second-rower Tyson Frizell was honoured with the Geoff Selby Memorial Coach’s Award for demonstrating characteristics of the award’s namesake Geoff Selby, a hardworking and highly respected former Dragons player who was tragically killed in a car accident in 1989.

Furthermore, fellow Dragons second-rower Joel Thompson, the Club’s Ken Stephens NRL Community Award nominee, was honoured with the Dragons Community Involvement Award for his substantial work in the community promoting the Club’s eight Community Pillars- Charity, Cultural, Education, Environment, Grassroots, Health, Mentoring and Women & Girls.

Dragons centre Euan Aitken was awarded the Mark Coyne Trophy for career development to reflect his ongoing tertiary studies as he pursues a BA of Nutrition Science at the University of Wollongong.

National Youth Competition team second-rower Jacob Host was named the Paul McGregor NYC ‘Player of the Year’.

The Illawarra Cutters Players were also recognised on the evening with prop Russell Packer named the ‘Illawarra Coal Player of the Year’ whilst lock Sam Coster was awarded the ‘Illawarra Cutters Coaches’ Award.

Past Dragons ‘Player of the Year’ Medal Recipients

2014: Ben Creagh
Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier & Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners