You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Image by Robb Cox © Gareth Widdop :NRL Rugby League - Round 24, St George Illawarra Dragons V Gold Coast Titans at WIN Jubilee Stadium, Sunday August 24th 2014.

St George Illawarra Dragons five-eighth Gareth Widdop has been nominated for the coveted RLPA Players' Player Medal to be presented next week at the 2014 Rugby League Players' Association Players’ Awards.

Players vote for their opponents on a 3-2-1 basis after each game of the NRL regular season and the votes are tallied after Round 26.

"The RLPA Players' Player Medal is the ultimate recognition by your peers of your on-field performances,” said RLPA CEO, David Garnsey.

“To receive this accolade is certainly a career highlight for a professional Rugby League Player.

"The night is also an opportunity for us to celebrate career milestones and achievements at Youth, Premiership and Representative levels of the game.

“All those nominated can feel justifiably proud of their performances throughout what has been one of the most closely contested seasons in recent memory. We look forward to celebrating their achievements.”

Additionally, Australia International Brett Morris is a nominee for the Australia Representative Player of the Year. 

The One Solutions Representative Player of the Year Award honours the contribution made by Players to their national teams during the World Cup (2013), State of Origin and Test Matches.

A list of Award nominees for 2014

RLPA Players' Player Medal
Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)
Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
Anthony Milford (Canberra Raiders)
Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

RLPA Rookie of the Year
Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)
Paul Carter (Gold Coast Titans)
Pauli Pauli (Parramatta Eels)

National Youth Competition (NYC) Player of the Year
Nene Macdonald (Sydney Roosters)
Jake Mamo (Newcastle Knights)
Sione Mata’utia (Newcastle Knights)

One Solutions Representative of the Year Awards

Australian Representative Player of the Year
Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

New Zealand Representative Player of the Year
Shaun Johnson (New Zealand Warriors)
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)
Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers)

Rest of the World Representative Player of the Year
Anthony Milford - Samoa (Canberra Raiders)
Joseph Paulo - USA (Parramatta Eels)
Korbin Sims - Fiji (Newcastle Knights)

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners