You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin has finalised his team ahead of the Dragons' Round 1 clash against the Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah on Sunday, March 14.

The Dragons are 1-17. Kaide Ellis and Jackson Ford join Jordan Pereira and Max Feagai as the players to drop out of Tuesday's initial squad. 

Jack Bird, Andrew McCullough, Poasa Faamausili and Daniel Alvaro will all don the Dragons jersey in an NRL fixture for the first time under new coach Griffin.

Adam Clune will play five-eighth following the NRL-enforced suspension of Corey Norman. He will partner new captain Ben Hunt in the halves. Jayden Sullivan (hamstring) was not considered for selection.

Jordan Pereira is the unlucky man out in the three-way race for a Round 1 wing spot, with Cody Ramsey and Mikaele Ravalawa named.

Josh Kerr's mooted shift to the back row has been ratified, while Brayden Wiliame will act as an interchange utility.

"I'm in a good headspace" - Bird on past injuries

NRL squad for Round 1 v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks –

1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by EFEX
2. Cody Ramsey – sponsored by Aspec Masonry
3. Jack Bird – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
4. Zac Lomax – sponsored by Floormania
5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
6. Adam Clune – sponsored by St.George Bank
7. Ben Hunt (c) – sponsored by Narellan Pools Illawarra
8. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Gym Solutions
9. Andrew McCullough – sponsored by Dincel Construction System
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by Fox and Jones
11. Josh Kerr – sponsored by Sneaky Burger
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Modus Projects
13. Tyrell Fuimaono – sponsored by TLE Alexandria

14. Poasa Faamausili – sponsored by CMG Audio Visual
15. Trent Merrin – sponsored by TripADeal
16. Daniel Alvaro – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
17. Brayden Wiliame – sponsored by Deicorp