You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra NRL captain Ben Hunt and NRLW forward Holli Wheeler have won the prestigious Dragons Medal for the second time in their respective careers.

The 2022 Dally M Player of the Year Hunt also won the Red V Members Player of the Year at the Dragons' annual presentation evening at Pyrmont's Doltone House on Tuesday.

For the first time since 2019, the full complement of football-related awards were presented, with Wheeler making history as the first two-time NRLW Dragons Medallist.

Wheeler on creating history at Dragons medal

NRL front-rower Blake Lawrie was the recipient of the Immortals Trophy for the second time in his career. The Immortals Trophy is an award selected by the coaching staff in consideration of the Immortals criteria: demonstrating outstanding commitment and dedication in all aspects of rugby league.

The Geoff Selby Memorial Trophy, awarded to the best emerging talent at the Dragons in any given season in honour of former player Selby who tragically passed away in 1989, was presented to Rugby League World Cup bound Samoan winger Mat Feagai.

NRLW captain Kezie Apps was named the first ever Women's Premiership Members Player of the Year while Taliah Fuimaono received the NRLW Coach's Award from Jamie Soward.

NRLW front-rower Tara McGrath-West was also the inaugural winner of the NRLW Emerging Talent Award following a barnstorming debut season that included a 230-metre performance in the Dragons' golden point win over the Broncos in Round 4.

Performance analyst Jason Streat was named Club Person of the Year. Beyond his day-to-day duties, Streat has long been at the forefront of the club's NRL Apollo Covid protocol adherence while also heading up the recently introduced Dragons Health initiative.

Playmaker Zach Herring won the Paul McGregor Trophy as the Jersey Flegg Player of the Year, while Jaiyden Hunt and Jackson Ford were awarded the Dragons' Knock On Effect NSW Cup Player of the Year and Knock On Effect NSW Cup Coach's Award respectively.

Dragons Player of the Year Medal –

2022: Ben Hunt
2021: Ben Hunt
2020: Cameron McInnes and Shaylee Bent
2019: Cameron McInnes and Jessica Sergis
2018: Tariq Sims and Holli Wheeler
2017: Gareth Widdop
2016: Tyson Frizell
2015: Leeson Ah Mau
2014: Ben Creagh
2013: Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh 
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier and Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Dragons NRLW Player of the Year Medal –

2022: Holli Wheeler
2021: Elsie Albert and Emma Tonegato
2020: Shaylee Bent
2019: Jessica Sergis
2018: Holli Wheeler

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners