You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has named his mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the Dragons' Round 1 clash against the North Queensland Cowboys at 1300SMILES Stadium, Townsville on March 16.

Mikaele Ravalawa (St George Illawarra player #218) will make his NRL debut on the wing, and will be joined by five-eighth Corey Norman (#219) as the Dragons' first debutants of 2019.

Skipper Gareth Widdop's move to fullback has been formalised, with Matt Dufty moving back to the interchange as a result. Jacob Host has been named in the back row with Tyson Frizell named at lock.

Round 1 of the Telstra Premiership will see all 16 clubs support the North Queensland Flood Appeal; the NRL will donate $100 for every point scored across the eight games.

The Dragons will support the appeal by donating a signed jersey to North Queensland's online memorabilia auction. The two club captains Widdop and Michael Morgan will also sign a match-day football that will be included in the Cowboys' fundraising efforts. Details for this auction will be communicated at a later date.

Unavailable Dragons:
Jack de Belin (welfare)
Korbin Sims (suspension)

NRL squad for Round 1 v North Queensland Cowboys -

  1. Gareth Widdop – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
  2. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
  3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
  4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
  5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by SMAI
  6. Corey Norman – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
  7. Ben Hunt – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
  8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
  9. Cameron McInnes – sponsored by Floormania
  10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
  11. Jacob Host – sponsored by Val Morgan
  12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
  13. Tyson Frizell – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski


14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Dincel Construction System
15. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
16. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
18. Zac Lomax – sponsored by Tosich Group
19. Josh Kerr
20. Reece Robson
21. Jonus Pearson