You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital image by Shane Wenzlick

The St George Illawarra Dragons will rely on both young and old at the Auckland Nines set to take place on February 4 and 5 at Eden Park.

The Dragons' 18-man squad will feature Tariq Sims and Jack de Belin as co-captains following Tyson Frizell's late withdrawal.

Sims and de Belin will be joined by fellow first-graders Will Matthews, Kurt Mann, Jacob Host and Joel Thompson, while Cameron McInnes and Nene Macdonald will don a Dragons jumper for the first time.

Euan Aitken will also back up from the recent Four Nations tournament to take his place in Auckland.

Mann, Sims and New Zealand international Kalifa Faifai Loa will be the Dragons' most-experienced Nines campaigners having played in every tournament since its inception.

Young halves Shaun Nona and Jai Field have also earned the chance to impress coach Paul McGregor following Drew Hutchison's unfortunate season-ending knee injury.


February 4th –

Game 3: Dragons vs Eels at 10:50am (AEDT); 12:50pm (NZDT)

Game 11: Dragons v Sea Eagles at 2:45pm (AEDT); 4:45pm (NZDT)

February 5th –

Game 20: Dragons v Warriors at 9:50am (AEDT); 11:50am (NZDT)

Piha Pool Squads:

St George Illawarra Dragons –  Patrick Herbert, Nene Macdonald, Euan Aitken, Levi Dodd, Kalifa Faifai Loa, Kurt Mann, Siliva Havili, Cameron McInnes, Luciano Leilua, Jacob Host, Joel Thompson, Jack de Belin (c), Tariq Sims (c), Taane Milne, Shaun Nona, Will Matthews, Matt Dufty, Jai Field.

Parramatta Eels – Corey Norman (c), Nathan Brown, Kenny Edwards, Jamal Fogarty, Bevan French, David Gower, Clint Gutherson, Josh Hoffman, George Jennings, Cameron King, Suaia Matagi, Tepai Moeroa, Marata Niukore, Scott Schulte, Rory O’Brien, Semi Radradra, Honeti Tuha, Joseph Ualesi, Troy Dargan.

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles – Brenton Lawrence (c), Jonathan Wright, Brian Kelly, Akuila Uate, Jorge Taufua, Pita Godinet, Cameron Cullen, Peter Schuster, Tom Wright, Joey Lussick, Shaun Lane, Frank Winterstein, Jarrad Kennedy, Curtis Sironen, Addin Fonua-Blake, Martin Taupau, Lloyd Perrett, Dylan Walker.

New Zealand Warriors – Ruben Wiki (c), Ryan Hoffman, Junior Pauga, Matt Allwood, Blake Ayshford, Ata Hingano, Solomone Kata, Shaun Johnson, Mason Lino, Bunty Afoa, James Gavet, Tuimoala Lolohea, Jazz Tevaga, Ofahiki Ogden, Lewis Soosemea, Toafofoa Sipley, Isaiah Papalii, James Bell.

News on Dragons' Nines squad:

McGregor: 'A mixture of youth and experience'

Dodd: Unexpected Call Up

Milne: Chasing Nines Redemption

Herbert Achieves Nines Goal

Matthews: Ready To Rumble

Faifai Loa Ready For Another Nines

Thompson Excited For Fortnight Ahead

High Performance Update: Auckland Nines

Sims, de Belin to captain Dragons at the Nines

Kiwi Dragons ready to star at home


Television: Live on Fox Sports 2 from 9:30am (AUS), Sky Sports 1 (NZ)

Radio: Live on Triple M

Social Media:

Be sure to keep up to date with the Dragons at the NRL Auckland Nines on -



Twitter, and;

Snapchat: NRL_Dragons

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners