You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra Dragons Head Coach Paul McGregor has named a 19-man squad for the World Club Series fixture against the Warrington Wolves at The Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington on Friday.

The Dragons squad has been based in Manchester for just over a week and have been training at Salford in the lead up to the opening match of the inaugural World Club Series.

"We have had a good week of training and our boys are ready to go," said McGregor.

"The boys are really excited to be able to play on the international stage and they know how important this game is for us as a Club as we head into our season.

"Warrington are a great team, they have had a good pre-season and start to the season and we know that we are in for a very tough match."

The Man of the Match in this fixture will be awarded the Harry Bath Trophy, a Wire and Dragons legend.

Bath played 346 matches in a nine-year spell at Warrington, earning the Heritage Number 493. 

He scored 90 tries and kicked 812 goals for The Wire as well as winning two Challenge Cup winners medals and two Championship winners’ medals.

In 1957 he returned to Australia and joined St George, playing 60 games in three seasons winning the Premiership each time. 

He retired after the 1959 Grand Final, in which he was sent off, to pursue a career in coaching.

Bath coached Balmain to two Grand Finals before winning the 1968 and 1970 World Cups with Australia. 

He returned to St George to take his young side dubbed ‘Bath’s Babes’ to Premiership success in 1977 in his first season coaching at the Club. 

He repeated the achievement in 1979 before retiring in 1981.

Harry Bath passed away in 2008 at the age of 83. 

He will always be remembered as a Warrington, St George and Rugby League legend.

Dragons 19-Man Squad for clash with Warrington Wolves:

Euan Aitken, Leeson Ah Mau, Ben Creagh (c), Jack de Belin, Josh Dugan, Dylan Farrell, Tyson Frizell, Heath L'Estrange, Jake Marketo, Benji Marshall, Trent Merrin, Eto Nabuli, Dane Nielsen, Jason Nightingale, Rory O'Brien, Mitch Rein, George Rose, Joel Thompson, Gareth Widdop.

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners