You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The St George Illawarra Dragons have proudly announced their High Performance Unit squads for season 2014.

The HPU is a key program and pathway for junior rugby league players in our St George and Illawarra regions as well as selected talent identified from external areas.

Now in its sixth year, it has established itself as one of the most admired development programs in rugby league and is responsible for guiding many of today’s players in the NRL.

This season will see Dragons National Youth Competition Head Coaches Dean Young and Ben Hornby overseeing the coaching of the HPU as they help to prepare young players for the demands of the NRL.

“It is important that all the HPU players irrespective of location have an opportunity to play at an elite level of competition,” said Young.

“We have got a lot of young players who are coming through the ranks here presently and we are here to make sure they get the very best footballing education.

“The Dragons are a club that’s developed a lot of current NRL players through our youth system and it’s important for the sport that we continue to produce NRL calibre footballers.”

The programs run from the end of the Junior Representative season in May through until the end of the rugby league season with group and individual plans for each squad member that cover all aspects required, including basic skills, speed and strength levels,  to be successful.

Furthermore, the HPU operates an External Academy program aimed at servicing the developmental needs of a small number of external country-based players on contract or scholarship to the Club.

The department already boasts several alumni currently playing first-grade with the Dragons including Jack Stockwell, Kyle Stanley, Charly Runciman, Nathan Green, Craig Garvey and Yaw Kiti Glymin.

Additionally, other graduates including NSW Blues U20 State of Origin representatives Jack Bird, Euan Aitken and Drew Hutchison, are presently plying their trade at NYC level.


Under 16
Tremaine Brown
Josh Cassidy
Joe Lovodua
David Nafau
Lachlan Navale
Daniel Stojanovski
Jeff Tuitavaku
Zac Vella
Kirean Wyld
Dean Xenos

Under 18
Brandon Boulmehelm
Ben Cassell
Delane Cherrington
Rhys Davies
Ryan Fletcher
Tristan Green
Siaopo Tagaloa
Topi Taufa
Netane Vi


Under 16
Jack Cross
Matt Delbanco
Donte Drummond
Jason Gilliard
James Jagot
Riley Mills
Dylan Morris
Sam Price
Tristan Sailor

Under 18
Max Bailey
Luke Chalker
Donte Efaraimo
Matt Jurd
Paora Kemp
Blake Lawrie
Nathan Leatigaga
Lachlan Stein
Jarrod Whitty

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners