You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The St George District Rugby League Football Club unveiled their 'Team of the Century' with a delayed celebratory event on Wednesday, July 20 at St George Leagues Club's Spirit of the Red V museum.

Covid-19 interrupted the District's prolonged centenary celebrations, including the unveiling of the Team of the Century.

The District's Team of the Century was chosen by a panel of former St George players, officials, rugby league journalists and historians. They considered a range of criteria, including: skill, durability, courage, versatility, leadership and representative honours.

The centenary team is dominated by players from the St George Dragons' world record 'Never Before, Never Again' 11 consecutive premierships (1956-66), including immortals Reg Gasnier, Graeme Langlands, John Raper and Norm Provan. 

"The selection of the final team followed a very comprehensive process where era teams were chosen, followed by a roundtable discussion with representatives from each of the era selection committees, that ultimately led to the final selection by a panel of three," Chairman of Selectors and former St George coach Roy Masters said.

"Some positions presented monumental challenges because of the plethora of talent available but ultimately supporters should be very proud of their centenary team. It is arguably the greatest combination of players in the history of rugby league."

Frank Burge was chosen as the coach of this historic team, who had two stints as St George coach (1927-1930 and 1937-1939). 

As a player, Burge was one of the game's greatest forwards and as St George captain-coach in 1927 took over the team that had run last in 1926 and led them to the final. Under Burge's leadership, St George made the finals in each of his years as coach at the club.

St George District's RLFC Team of the Century

Fullback: Graeme Langlands 
Wingers: Johnny King and Eddie Lumsden 
Centres: Reg Gasnier and Mark Gasnier 
Five-eighth: Brian Clay
Halfback: Billy Smith 
Lock: Johnny Raper 
Second-rowers: Norm Provan and Rod Reddy 
Front-rowers: Billy Wilson and Craig Young 
Hooker: Ken Kearney 

Bench: Harry Bath, Doug McRitchie, Neville Smith, Ian Walsh  

Coach: Frank Burge  

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners