You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
St George District announce final centenary era teams

St George District Rugby League Football Club have announced all six 'Teams of the Eras' ahead of their official Team of the Century announcement on July 20, 2022.

The 1956-1966 and 1967-1981 'Teams of the Eras' were announced on Wednesday, June 22 while the 1982-1998 team was announced on July 6.

All announcements were held at the Spirit of the Red V Museum.

"We had a lot of activities and events planned to celebrate our centenary but the Covid pandemic had other ideas. We made the decision to hold them over to allow us to appropriately recognise and celebrate those named," St George District and St George Illawarra Chairman Craig Young said.

"We put together a highly credential selection panel chaired by former coach, and now respected journalist, Roy Masters. The premise on which the Team of the Century is based is that all eras involving St George have produced great players, and this process ensures that the greatest players from all eras were recognised.

"Selectors were asked to consider a range of qualities such as: skill, durability, courage, character, versatility, leadership and representative honours."

Team of the Era: 1921-1940

Frank Meighan, Fred Gardner, George Carstairs, Gordon Hart, Jack LindwallArnold Taylor, Harry Kadwell, Clarrie Tye, Arthur Justice, Bill Hardman, Len Kelly, Neville Smith, Aub Kelly

Bench: Percy Fairall, Ernie Lapham, Frank Saunders and Jack Wedgwood

Coach: Frank Burge

St George District Team of the Era: 1921-40

Team of the Era: 1941-1955

Noel Pidding, Ron Roberts, Doug McRitchie, Matt McCoy, Tommy Ryan, Johnny Hawke, Alby McAndrew, Jack Holland, Ken Kearney, Jack Munn, Noel Mulligan, Norm Provan, Walter Mussing.

Bench: Frank Facer, Ross Kite, Merv Lees and Bryan Orrock

Coach: Ken Kearney

St George District Team of the Era: 1941-55

Team of the Era: 1956-1966

The "Never Before, Never Again" era team (1956-1966) features four Immortals and 12 Rugby League Hall of Fame members.

Graeme Langlands, Eddie Lumsden, Reg Gasnier, Billy Smith, Johnny King, Brian Clay, Bob Bugden, Kevin Ryan, Ken Kearney, Billy Wilson, Norm Provan, Harry Bath, Johnny Raper.

Bench: Ian Walsh, Elton Rasmussen, Brian Graham, Monty Porter.

Coach: Norm Provan 

St George District Team of the Era: 1956-66

Team of the Era: 1967-1982

Graeme Langlands, Ted Goodwin, Graham Quinn, Reg Gasnier, Johnny King, Phil Hawthorne, Billy Smith, Craig Young, Steve Edge, John Wittenberg, Barry Beath, Rod Reddy, Johnny Raper.

Bench: Tony Branson, Steve Morris, Robert Stone, Ken Maddison.

Coach: Harry Bath

St George District Team of the Era: 1967-82

Team of the Era: 1982-1998

Brian Johnson, Steve Morris, Mark Coyne, Michael O'Connor, Ricky Walford, Anthony Mundine, Noel Goldthorpe, Craig Young, Nathan Brown, Pat Jarvis, Graeme Wynn, Gorden Tallis, Brad Mackay.

Bench: Brian Johnston, Scott Gourley, David Barnhill, Wayne Bartrim 

Coach: Roy Masters

St George District Team of the Era: 1982-98

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners