You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRLW late mail: Round 1 v Roosters

St George Illawarra Telstra Women's Premiership coach Daniel Lacey has finalised his team ahead of the Dragons' Round 1 clash against the Sydney Roosters at GIO Stadium, Canberra on Saturday, October 3 (11:30am).

Sam Bremner will co-captain the Dragons, alongside Kezie Apps, in her first NRLW appearance for the Red V since Round 1, 2018. Bremner will join a fresh looking spine that will see Shakiah Tungai make the move to five-eighth and Keeley Davis at hooker.

St George Illawarra development player squad graduate Jaime Chapman will make her NRLW debut on the wing alongside new recruit, Jillaroos representative centre Isabelle Kelly.

Steph Hancock, Elsie Albert (NRLW debut) and Ellie Johnston (NRLW debut) line up in the middle in what will be all of their club debuts, although the latter will start from the interchange with Aaliyah Fasavalu-Fa'amausili set to start. 

Christine Pauli, Talei Holmes and Mahalia Murphy will also make their NRLW debuts from the interchange.

In a testament to the depth the club has within its squad, Rikeya Horne and Maddison Weatherall have been named in the reserves. Georgia Page (concussion) was not considered for selection.

Maddison Weatherall and Rikeya Horne join Jade Etherden and Teagan Berry as the players to drop out of the initial 21-woman squad. 

NRL Women's Premiership team for Round 1 v Sydney Roosters –

1. Sam Bremner (c) – sponsored by CBC
2. Tiana Penitani – sponsored by Baytek Construction
3. Jessica Sergis – sponsored by Floormania
4. Isabelle Kelly – sponsored by Nutrition Station
5. Jaime Chapman – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
6. Shakiah Tungai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
7. Maddie Studdon – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
14. Aaliyah Fasavalu-Faamausili – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
9. Keeley Davis – sponsored by Dincel Construction System
10. Steph Hancock – sponsored by Fox Property
11. Kezie Apps (c) – sponsored by Modus Projects
12. Shaylee Bent – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
13. Elsie Albert – sponsored by SMAI

8. Ellie Johnston – sponsored by EFEX
15. Christine Pauli – sponsored by CMG Audio Visual
16. Talei Holmes – sponsored by Bodytech Fitness
17. Mahalia Murphy – sponsored by Trendline

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners