You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
20 Dragons named for NRL Representative Round

St George Illawarra have had 20 players selected to play in the NRL Representative Round across the coming weekend.

Headlined by State of Origin II at Perth's Optus Stadium on Sunday night, Paul Vaughan, Tyson Frizell and Tariq Sims have been tasked by coach Brad Fittler to salvage the series against the might of the Queensland Maroons.

Up against them will be Dragons halfback Ben Hunt, although named at hooker, who will be looking to win his second Origin series. His halves partner Corey Norman has been named at 19th man.

The State of Origin representation doesn't stop there, with the Dragons' first nine Women's Premiership signings all set to play for New South Wales against Queensland this Friday night at North Sydney Oval.

They are Kezie Apps, Shaylee Bent, Takilele Katoa, Tiana Penitani, Jessica Sergis, Maddie Studdon, Shakiah Tungai, Botille Vette-Welsh and Holli Wheeler.

Recently signed Women's Premiership player Maddison Weatherall will represent NSW Under-18s in Friday night's curtain-raiser. 

The action doesn't stop on Friday night with a 2021 Rugby League World Cup qualifier slated to take place at Wentworthville's Ringrose Park between the Cook Islands and South Africa. Dragons centre Steven Marsters has been named to play for Cook Islands.

Dragons Jersey Flegg front-rower Jalal Bazzaz has been named to play for Lebanon and will have to come up against three of his fellow Red V players in Fijian trio Korbin Sims, Mikaele Ravalawa and Joe Lovodua on Saturday afternoon at Leichhardt Oval.

Dragons selected in 2019 NRL Representative Round –

  • Kezie Apps (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Jalal Bazzaz (Lebanon)
  • Shaylee Bent (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Tyson Frizell (New South Wales Origin)
  • Ben Hunt (Queensland Origin)
  • Takilele Katoa (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Joe Lovodua (Fiji)
  • Steven Marsters (Cook Islands)
  • Corey Norman (Queensland Origin)
  • Tiana Penitani (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Mikaele Ravalawa (Fiji)
  • Jess Sergis (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Korbin Sims (Fiji)
  • Tariq Sims (New South Wales Origin)
  • Maddie Studdon (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Shakiah Tungai (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Paul Vaughan (New South Wales Origin)
  • Botille Vette-Welsh (New South Wales Women's Origin)
  • Maddison Weatherall (New South Wales Under-18s Women's)
  • Holli Wheeler (New South Wales Women's Origin)
Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners