You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
St George junior reps presentation winners announced

Over 160 players, parents and staff were on hand to congratulate the award winners across the Harold Matthews (Under-16s), SG Ball (Under-18s) and Tarsha Gale Cup (Under-18s women) teams.  

The Harold Matthews team had a much improved season, with the highlight being the defeat of eventual premiers, Sea Eagles in the later stages of the competition.

The awards and jumpers for the Harold Matthews team were presented by Australian, New South Wales and Dragons player Tyson Frizell as well as the coach Paul Homann.

The Coach's Award was won by Daniel Musolino, the team's dynamic backrower who played consistently throughout the year.

The Player of the Year was taken out by Caleb Navale. Caleb was a standout in the team; the lock's hard running and brutal defence a feature of his game.

The inaugural female team in the St George district competed in the second year of the Tarsha Gale Cup competition. This team was defeated in the final by the Sharks who went on to claim the title.

While they led this match going into the dying stages, a late try sealed victory for Cronulla. The improvement of this team throughout the season was quiet astounding and a credit to the dedication of the staff involved.

Former Dragons player and current Dragons Intrust Super Premiership coach Mathew Head was hand to present the awards alongside the girl's coach Jonathan Wilson.

Jonathan presented the Coach's Award to Taina Naividi after she showed outstanding commitment by travelling from the Central Coast to train and play each week. 

The inaugural winner of the St George Female Player of the Year was Aaliyah Fasavalu-Fa'amausili, a brutal defender and a dynamic attacking weapon. The highlights of her performances were displayed on the screen during the presentation left no one in any doubt she has a big future in the game.

The SG Ball team were competitive throughout the season. This squad's development was a great reflection on the efforts they put in throughout the year.

Two players, Jason Saab and Kane Bradley, were included in the NSW Origin Pathways program. Jason was selected in the Under-18s Blues team that played before Origin I where he scored a try and set up another in the team's win over Queensland.

The SG Ball Coach's Award was presented by Pat Gibson and won by Jye McRae. Pat highlighted Jye's team first attitude and willingness to cover a variety of roles and playing positions.

The Bill Spaul Trophy for player of the year was presented by Bill's son Bruce.

Previous recipients of this award include Mark Gasnier, Lance Thompson, Cameron King and Addin Fonua-Blake.

This year's recipient was James Coyne. James is a classy, skilful and dynamic ball runner. James is a traditional centre – much like his father Mark, who captained the club – with him having the ability to set up the players outside him.

Invited trials for next year's squads will be held in September and St George Illawarra staff are currently monitoring players within the St George Junior League ahead of said trials.





Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners