You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dally M Awards at The Star  .Picture :NRL Photos / Gregg Porteous

St George Illawarra skipper Gareth Widdop took home the 2017 Dally M Five-eighth of the Year for the first time on Wednesday night.

Widdop – who beat out the likes of Rooster Luke Keary and Eel Corey Norman – was on hand at the Star Casino in Pyrmont to receive his award alongside the other positional award winners.

The English international also managed to finish third overall (24 points) on the Dally M Leaderboard – which was eventually won by Storm skipper Cameron Smith.

Widdop was the only player to pose a real threat to Smith's eventually second Dally M Medal win after he jumped to the lead after 20 rounds.

Though in the end Widdop's knee injury suffered against the Roosters on Anzac Day came back to haunt him – after the 28-year-old was forced to miss three games and England's Test against Samoa earlier in 2017.

Dragons forwards Paul Vaughan, Tyson Frizell and Tariq Sims were nominated and unfortunate not to win Dally M Prop, Second-rower and Try of the Year respectively.

Young Dragons star Tristan Sailor was also beaten out for Holden Cup Player of the Year.

The full list of winners was as followed:

Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)
Holden Cup Player of the Year: Jake Clifford (North Queensland Cowboys)
Top Points Scorer: Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
Top Try Scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne Storm)
Tackle of the Year: Nathan Brown (Parramatta Eels)
Try of the Year: Kyle Feldt (North Queensland Cowboys)
Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm)
Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)
Provan Summons People's Choice Medal: Clinton Gutherson (Parramatta Eels)
Female Player of the Year: Simaima Taufa (Jillaroos)
Fullback of the Year: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
Winger of the Year: Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)
Centre of the Year: Dylan Walker (Manly Sea Eagles)
Five-eighth of the Year: Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Halfback of the Year: Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)
Lock of the Year: Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)
Second-rower of the Year: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
Hooker of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Interchange Player of the Year: Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)
Dally M Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners