You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
St George Illawarra Dragons Awards night at Doletone House , Pyrmont .Picture : Gregg Porteous

St George Illawarra skipper Gareth Widdop has won the prestigious Dragons Player of the Year Medal at the annual presentation night on Sunday.

The English international was duly selected by both his peers and the coaching staff following a season that saw him also selected as the RLPA Five-eighth of the Year.

2017 recruit Paul Vaughan was also recognised for his outstanding season, taking home two awards in the Red V Members Player of the Year and the Geoff Selby Memorial Trophy.

Selby was a hardworking and respected Dragon who was tragically killed in a car accident in 1989, with Vaughan – who will play in the Prime Minister's XIII clash against Papua New Guinea next week – awarded the honour for displaying characteristics of the award's namesake.

Fellow recruit Cameron McInnes was awarded the Dragons Immortals Trophy, an award selected by the coaching staff in consideration with the Immortals criteria of demonstrating outstanding commitment and dedication in all aspects of rugby league.

Reigning NRL Ken Stephen Medallist Joel Thompson won his third-straight Dragons Community Involvement Award for his tireless work in the community.

Thompson also won the Mark Coyne Trophy for career development, with the back-rower currently studying a Diploma of Leadership and Management as well as him undertaking work experience in the juvenile justice system.

Young Dragons back-rower Jackson Ford won the Paul McGregor Trophy as the Under-20s Player of the Year, while Luciano Leilua and Jack Payne took home the Illawarra Player of the Year and the Illawarra Coach's Award respectively.

Dragons Player of the Year Medal Recipients:

2017: Gareth Widdop
 Tyson Frizell
2015: Leeson Ah Mau
2014: Ben Creagh
2013: Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh 
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier and Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners