You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Illawarra have suffered a 32-16 loss to Intrust Super Premiership competition leaders the Wyong Roos at WIN Stadium, Wollongong on Saturday afternoon.

The hosts were on top early, running in two tries within the first fifteen minutes, as Matt Dufty and Reuben Garrick crossed the stripe.

The Roos fought their way back into the match, scoring back-to-back tries courtesy of Matthew Ikuvalu and Josh Mantellato to lock scores up at 12-all come half-time.

Wyong’s Chris Smith crossed the line shortly after the intermission to give his side the lead for the first time in the contest.

Illawarra responded quickly when Garrick scored his second try out wide after a nice backline movement. Nona couldn’t convert leaving the hosts trailing by two points in the final quarter.

Justin Toomey-White was next to score for the visitors extending their lead to eight, before a penalty goal to Mantellato made it a 10-point game.

Roos’ Luke Sharpe scored a try in the shadows of fulltime granting his side a 32-16 victory over the defending premiers.

The scoreboard didn’t reflect Illawarra’s efforts, with the side building a strong platform to build upon when they travel to UOW Jubilee Oval, Kogarah to face an in-form Newcastle Knights outfit next Sunday.

Wyong Roos 32 (Matthew Ikuvalu, Justin Toomey-White, Chris Smith, Josh Mantellato, Luke Sharpe tries; Josh Mantellato 6 goals) defeated Illawarra 16 (R Garrick 2, M Dufty tries; S Nona 2 goals) at WIN Stadium, Wollongong. Half-time: 12-all.