You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra Dragons trio Josh Dugan, Tyson Frizell and Jack de Belin have been selected in the NSW Blues 20-man squad for Origin I.

Sydney Roosters halfback Mitchell Pearce has been recalled while Gold Coast Titans hooker Nathan Peats will make his State of Origin debut after New South Wales announced its team for Game One on Monday night.

NSW Blues coach Laurie Daley decided to go with Peats at hooker when Penrith Panthers rake Peter Wallace was ruled out with a groin injury earlier today. 

Roosters back-rower Boyd Cordner will become the 19th player to captain the NSW Origin side.

Cordner, who has made six Origin appearances for NSW since debuting in 2013, will lead a team boasting veterans Jarryd Hayne, Pearce and Brett Morris, while Peats and Jake Trbojevic are set to make their Origin debuts Wednesday-week at Suncorp Stadium.

Additional players Matt Moylan, Jordan McLean and Jack De Belin will join the team in camp at Kingscliff.

NSW Blues Origin I Team: 

1 James Tedesco
2 Blake Ferguson
3 Josh Dugan
4 Jarryd Hayne
5 Brett Morris
6 James Maloney
7 Mitchell Pearce
8 Aaron Woods
9 Nathan Peats
10 Andrew Fifita
11 Josh Jackson 
12 Boyd Cordner (c)
13 Tyson Frizell
14 David Klemmer
15 Wade Graham
16 Jake Trbojevic
17 Jack Bird
18 Matt Moylan
19 Jordan McLean
20 Jack de Belin

Coach: Laurie Daley

This article first appeared on

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners