You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra Dragons forward Paul Vaughan has been named in Mal Meninga's NRL World All Stars team as an injury-replacement for Sea Eagles prop Nate Myles.

The Italian international will join fellow Dragons recruit Nene Macdonald in the 20-man World All Stars squad to play the Indigenous All Stars side at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle on February 10.

"The whole concept is exciting. I watch the game every year and I'm more than happy to now play my part in it," Vaughan said.

"To be coached by Mal Meninga, who is one of the best coaches in the game, is obviously very exciting as well. Hopefully I can take a lot out of the week."

Vaughan and Macdonald will clash with six-time Indigenous All Star and Dragons teammate Joel Thompson in the fixture.

"Joel has played for the Indigenous All Stars for a long time now and he's always been very proud to play in the All Stars game," Vaughan said.

"It's always good coming up against him. He's an aggressive player and I have no doubt we'll collide at some point during the game."

Rabbitohs hooker Damien Cook, Roosters veteran Mitchell Aubusson and Manly recruit Akuila Uate have also been named in the NRL World All Stars team as replacements for Adam Reynolds, Konrad Hurrell and Jake Trbojevic.

The Indigenous All Stars will also be without Broncos star Sam Thaiday, Bulldogs rookie Adam Elliott and Storm centre Will Chambers.

Eels young gun Bevan French, Titans halfback Tyrone Roberts and Rooster Chris Smith will play in their place.

Updated NRL World All Stars squad:

Jarryd Hayne (Gold Coast Titans), David Mead (Brisbane Broncos), Joey Leilua (Canberra Raiders), Sione Mata'utia (Newcastle Knights), Nene Macdonald (St George Illawarra Dragons), Mitchell Moses (Wests Tigers), Moses Mbye (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Paul Vaughan (St George Illawarra Dragons), Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters), Jordan McLean (Melbourne Storm), Gavin Cooper (North Queensland Cowboys), Bryce Cartwright (Penrith Panthers), Tepai Moeroa (Parramatta Eels), Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), Sam Lisone (New Zealand Warriors), Jordan Turner (Canberra Raiders), Akuila Uate (Manly-Waringah Sea Eagles), Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Mitchell Aubusson (Sydney Roosters)

Updated NRL Indigenous All Stars squad:

Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders), Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters), Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights), Bevan French (Parramatta Eels), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys), Ashley Taylor (Gold Coast Titans), Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans), Nathan Peats (Gold Coast Titans), Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks), Joel Thompson (St George Illawarra Dragons), Wade Graham (Cronulla Sharks), Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers), Tyrone Roberts (Gold Coast Titans), Jack Bird (Cronulla Sharks), Leilani Latu (Penrith Panthers), Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters), Aidan Sezer (Canberra Raiders), Kyle Turner (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Chris Smith (Sydney Roosters). 

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners