You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NRL Premiership.

Teams - St George Illawarra Dragons v Canberra Raiders.

Round - Round 10. Indigenous Round.

Date - Thursday 12th of May 2016.

Venue - WIN Jubillee Oval Kogarah, Sydney.

Photographer – Grant Trouville © NRL Photos.

Description - #NRLIndigenous

St George Illawarra Dragons second-rower Tyson Frizell has been named recipient of the Club’s ‘Player of the Year’ Medal at the annual end of season Presentation Night on Friday.

The local Corrimal Cougars junior was selected by both his peers and coaching staff following a stand out season that included three tries, 694 tackles, 220 runs and 2,009 metres in total throughout season.

Fullback Josh Dugan was named as the Red V Members ‘Player of the Year’ following a strong year which saw him end the season having made 314 runs for 2,894 metres in 17 games for the Club

Both players were also rewarded individually for their efforts in 2016 with representative honours as part of the NSW Blues, Australia Prime Minister’s XIII and Australia Kangaroos squad the upcoming Four Nations Series.

Lock Jack de Belin was awarded the Dragons Immortals Trophy, as selected by the St George living Immortals in consultation with the Club’s coaching staff, after meeting the Immortals’ criteria of demonstrating outstanding commitment, dedication and attitude in all aspects of their rugby league preparation, training and performance. 

Additionally, winger Jason Nightingale was honoured with the Geoff Selby Memorial Coach’s Award for demonstrating characteristics of the award’s namesake Geoff Selby, a hardworking and highly respected former Dragons player who was tragically killed in a car accident in 1989.

NRL Community Ken Stephen Medal recipient Joel Thompson was honoured with his second consecutive Dragons Community Involvement Award for his substantial work in the community both with the Club and of his own accord.

Prop Russell Packer was awarded the Mark Coyne Trophy for career development to reflect his commitment and grades in tertiary studies as he pursues a BA of Commerce (Accounting & Finance) at the University of Wollongong.

Packer was also named in the NRL Academic Team of the Year in 2016.

National Youth Competition second-rower Luciano Leilua was named the Paul McGregor NYC ‘Player of the Year’ for a break-out season in the team that finished the season one game shy of the Grand Final.

The local Hurstville United junior also made his first-grade debut against the Brisbane Broncos at WIN Stadium, Wollongong in Round 22 and played a total of five NRL games this season.

The Illawarra Cutters, who won both the NRL State Championship and NSW Cup Premiership this season, were also recognised on the evening with prop Shannon Wakeman named the ‘Illawarra Coal Player of the Year’ and centre Levi Dodd was awarded the ‘Illawarra Cutters Coaches’ Award.

Dragons ‘Player of the Year’ Medal Recipients

2016: Tyson Frizell
2015: Leeson Ah Mau
 Ben Creagh
Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier & Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners