You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The St George Illawarra Dragons and Sydney Roosters players annually contest for the Ashton-Collier Spirit of ANZAC Medal awarded to the player of the match.

The individual accolade, previously known as the Spirit of ANZAC Medal, is named in tribute of Dragons Great Bill Collier and Roosters Legend Ferris Ashton for their respective services on and off the field.

The SCG Trust, with the approval of the RSL and Australian Defence Force, struck the first Spirit of ANZAC Medal in 2010 with the honour given to the player who best typifies the ANZAC Spirit in the annual clash.

This year, the SCG Trust will present the  Collier and Ashton families each with a replica Ashton-Collier Spirit of ANZAC Medal following the fixture on Monday.

Collier played 28 first-grade games for the Red V before joining Australia’s armoured regiment when deployed to New Guinea during World War 2.

He was the last surviving member of the 1941 Premiership winning side, who featured as a reserve, before later featuring regularly for the team between1942-43.

Collier went on to serve his country in both New Guinea before later being deployed to the island of Borneo until the end of World War 2.

Past Ashton-Collier Spirit Of ANZAC Medal Winners:

2010: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra Dragons)
2011: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra Dragons)
2012: Ben Hornby (St George Illawarra Dragons)
2013: Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
2014: Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)
2015: Benji Marshall (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners