You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NRL Premiership
Round - Round 01
Teams – Melbourne Storm v St George Illawarra Dragons
Date –    7th of March 2016
Venue – AAMI Park, Melbourne VIC
Photographer – Brett Crockford
Description –

The St George Illawarra Dragons have named their team for the Monty Porter Cup against the Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks at Shark Park, Cronulla on Sunday.

Head Coach Paul McGregor has named a 19-man squad for the local derby fixture which sees second-rower Tyson Frizell named to partner Will Matthews in the back-row.

Click Here To Become A Red V Member And March With Us In 2016!

Furthermore, Dragons winger Peter Mata’utia and utility Jack Marketo have been included on a six-man interchange bench which also includes co-captain Ben Creagh, props Jack de Belin and Dunamis Lui as well as hooker Siliva Havili.

"The local derby is a match that is always played with great intensity due to the rivalry both teams share,” said McGregor.

“There is no doubt the players will lift for the occasion as its one they enjoy being involved in.”

Fellow Dragons second-rower Joel Thompson is presently being monitored as he recovers from a cork to his gluteal muscles sustained during training last week.

The Monty Porter Cup pays tribute to the achievements of a player with strong associations to both Clubs and is contested each time the Clubs meet.

Porter was a second-rower who played 113 first-grade games for the Red V during his eight seasons with the Dragons (1958-65), winning six Premierships during that time (1958-60; 1962-64).

The second-rower left the Dragons in 1965 and went on to become the inaugural captain of the Sharks upon their inclusion into the NSWRL in 1967.

Click Here For All The Game Day Information For Round 2 v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks!

1. Kurt Mann
2. Euan Aitken
3. Josh Dugan
4. Tim Lafai
5. Jason Nightingale
6. Gareth Widdop (c)
7. Benji Marshall
8. Leeson Ah Mau
9. Mitch Rein
10. Russell Packer
11. Tyson Frizell
12. Will Matthews
13. Mike Cooper
14. Ben Creagh
15. Jack de Belin
16. Dunamis Lui
17. Siliva Havili
18. Peter Mata’utia
19. Jake Marketo

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners