You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dragons Mitch Rein is tackled by Warriors Albert Vete and Warriors Sam Tomkins:           NRL Rugby League, Round 22, NZ Warriors v St George Dragons at Westpac Stadium, Saturday 8th August 2015. Digital image by Shane Wenzlick, copyright

The St George Illawarra Dragons have named their travelling squad for the pre-season trial fixture against the New Zealand Warriors at Trafalgar Park, Nelson on Saturday.

Dragons Head Coach Paul McGregor has named a 26-man team for their third match of the pre-season which sees fullback Josh Dugan named in the squad after being rested in the Charity Shield fixture at ANZ Stadium, Olympic Park on Saturday.

Furthermore, co-captain Gareth Widdop (NRL World All-Stars) and Joel Thompson (NRL Indigenous All-Stars) have also both been named following their respective team commitments during the NRL All-Stars fixture at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on Saturday.

The Dragons will hold a five-day team camp leading into the fixture in and around the South Island city.

“Pre-season has been a long and tough one going on fourteen weeks and the guys have really prepared well,” said McGregor.

“This will be a our last week away for the players to really enjoy each other’s company and bond together before we go into Round 1.

“A week is a long time away from your family so this will provide that opportunity for the players to become closer and start to learn about each other’s habits that little bit more.

“I believe the players will come away from this with a very tight-knit bond.

“The Warriors have bought well and certainly have strike across the park while also being big and mobile.

“This game will represent a very good hit-out for us and provide a good gage at where we are before we close-off and start the season.”

Nelson Trial v New Zealand Warriors:

Leeson Ah Mau, Euan Aitken, Mike Cooper, Ben Creagh, Jack de Belin, Josh Dugan, Tyson Frizell, Siliva Havili, Drew Hutchison, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Tim Lafai, Dunamis Lui, Kurt Mann, Jake Marketo, Benji Marshall, Peter Mata’utia, Will Matthews, Tyrone McCarthy, Josh McCrone, Taane Milne, Jason Nightingale, Russell Packer, Adam Quinlan, Mitch Rein, Joel Thompson, Gareth Widdop.

Click Here To View The Dragons Player Profiles

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners