You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra Dragons second-rower Joel Thompson has been named in the Indigenous All-Stars team to compete at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on Saturday, February 13.

Furthermore, Dragons duo Gareth Widdop (England) and Tyson Frizell (Wales) have been named in an inaugural World All-Stars team to take on the reigning champions.

Thompson will make his fifth appearance for the Indigenous All-Stars against the NRL All-Stars and is part of a 20-man squad to be coached by Head Coach Laurie Daley.

The NSW Country Origin representative will square-off against teammates Widdop and Frizell, both making their respective debuts in this pre-season fixture, and are part of a 20-man squad to be coached by Wayne Bennett.

“I am humbled to be named in the Indigenous All-Stars squad for a fifth time as my heritage is something I am very proud of,” said Thompson.

“It is an important part of the pre-season calendar and I know that all the players involved always take pride in putting on the jersey.

“I would like to thank all the Red V Members and supporters who voted for me and look forward to squaring off against some familiar faces in Gareth and Tyson.

“It is also important to highlight the fact that in the week building up to this game, all players named will be in and around the local communities doing some great work with the local youth.”

Indigenous All-Stars Squad
1. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
2. Alex Johnston (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
3. Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)
4. Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
5. Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
6. Ben Barba (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
7. Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
8. Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)
9. Nathan Peats (Parramatta Eels)
10. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)
11. Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans)
12. Joel Thompson (St George Illawarra Dragons)
13. Chris Grevsmuhl (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
14. Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
15. Wade Graham (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
16. Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers)
17. James Roberts
18. Tyrone Roberts (Gold Coast Titans)
19. Ray Thompson (North Queensland Cowboys)
20. Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)

World All-Stars Squad
1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand Warriors)
2. Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)
3. Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)
4. Josh Morris (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
5. Antonio Winterstein (Brisbane Broncos)
6. Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)
7. Trent Hodkinson (Newcastle Knights)
8. James Graham (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
9. Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
10. Paul Gallen (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
11. Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
 12. Simon Mannering (New Zealand Warriors)
 13. Sam Burgess
14. Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
15. Kane Evans (Sydney Roosters)
16. Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)
17. Lachlan Maranta (Brisbane Broncos)
18. Nene McDonald (Gold Coast Titans)
19. Trent Merrin (Penrith Panthers)
20. Martin Taupau (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners