You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra Dragons captain Ben Creagh has been named recipient of the Club’s ‘Player of the Year’ Medal for a record fourth time at the annual end of season Presentation Night on Sunday.

The local University of Wollongong junior has previously been awarded the Club’s highest honour in 2007, 2009 and 2010 respectively and was additionally named as an NRL Ken Stephen’s Award finalist at the One Community Awards function on Thursday.

Creagh, 29, who was selected by both his peers and the coaching staff, started the season in the second-row before transitioning to prop-forward and scored three tries from his 22 games played.

Dragons five-eighth Gareth Widdop, who scored three tries in his maiden season with the Club, proved the overwhelming choice amongst Red V Members and took out the Red V Members ‘Player of the Year’ Award.

Furthermore, Dragons centre Josh Dugan was awarded the Dragons Immortals Trophy, as selected by the St George Immortals in consultation with the Clubs Coaching Staff, after meeting the Immortals’ criteria of demonstrating commitment, dedication and the right attitude to the Club.

Fellow Dragons centre Gerard Beale was honoured with the Dragons Community Involvement Award for his substantial work in the community promoting the Club’s eight Community Pillars- Charity, Cultural, Education, Environment, Grassroots, Health, Mentoring and Women & Girls.

Additionally, in a first for the Club, both prop Jack de Belin and second-rower Joel Thompson were bestowed the Geoff Selby Memorial Coach’s Award for demonstrating characteristics of the award’s namesake Geoff Selby, a hardworking and highly respected former Dragons player who was tragically killed in a car accident in 1989.

Dragons winger Jason Nightingale was awarded the Mark Coyne Trophy for career development in honour of his results and aptitude to his Bachelor of Commerce degree, which compliments being previously named in the 2014 NRL ‘Academic Team of the Year’.

National Youth Competition team centre Euan Aitken was named the Paul McGregor NYC ‘Player of the Year’.

Past Dragons ‘Player of the Year’ Medal Recipients

2013: Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier & Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners