You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NRL have announced that Australia will face either Samoa or Fiji at WIN Stadium, Wollongong as part of the Four Nations Tournament.

The NRL will additionally pay tribute to the Kangaroos heroes’ from the Illawarra as part of the pre-game celebrations for the historic first-ever Test match in Wollongong featuring the World Champions.

The schedule for the 2014 Four Nations tournament was launched in Brisbane on Thursday with Wollongong named to host the Test between Australia and the winner of the mid-season Test between Fiji and Samoa.

WIN Stadium will host the match on Sunday, November 9 and will mark the first Test the Kangaroos have played in Wollongong.

“We have been working in partnership with the Dragons to bring a major event like this to Wollongong and as part of this special occasion we plan to celebrate the region’s proud Rugby League history,” said NRL Head of Commercial Paul Kind.

“There are a number of Kangaroos heroes who have come from the Illawarra and that will be a focus of our planning around the match.”

Dragons CEO Peter Doust said the Club had always been committed to working with all stakeholders to ensure further elite Rugby League content was brought to the Illawarra.

“Recently we were able to bring the Charity Shield to the region and we are very pleased that after consultation with both the NRL and WIN Stadium, Rugby League supporters in this region will have the chance to see international rugby League in the Illawarra this November," said Doust.

The Chair of Venues NSW John Quayle, also applauded the decision.

“Venues NSW has been working closely with the NRL to bring the Kangaroos Test to WIN Stadium, Wollongong,” said Quayle.

“It is our plan to promote WIN Stadium as a multi-use venue, and events such as this, as long as they are supported by the local community, will be a very important part of WIN Stadium’s future.”  

The seven-match tournament will begin with a double header at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium on October 25 and will also feature games in Melbourne, Dunedin and Whangarei, ahead of a first ever four Nations Final in New Zealand, in the capital Wellington.

The 2014 tournament includes World Champions and Four Nations holders Australia, co-hosts New Zealand, England and the winner of the mid-season Pacific Test between Fiji and Samoa to be played at Penrith, in Sydney’s west, on Saturday, May 3.

Ticket details for the 2014 Four Nations tournament will be released in May.

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners