You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dragons announce NRLW Round 2 team list

St George Illawarra Dragons NRLW head coach Jamie Soward has announced his squad to face the Eels in Wollongong in Round 2.

Final team: Jamie Soward's team is 1-17, with Zali Hopkins the replacement player.

Soward has made several changes to the squad that went down to the Knights in Round 1, headlined by debutants Margot Vella, Cortez Te Pou, and Kaarla Cowan.

A former NSW Waratah and Maltese international, Vella makes her NRLW debut on the wing after switching to rugby league over the offseason whilst Hawke's Bay-native Te Pou has been awarded an NRLW call-up after enjoying an impressive Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership campaign earlier in the year.

A Windang Pelicans junior, Cowan - who spent six seasons with the Sharks at state level before taking a year off on maternity leave - turned heads playing with the Steelers' Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership side earlier this year and replaces Zali Hopkins on the interchange.

Vella and Te Pou make up a new-look wing pairing with Taylor-Adeline Mapusua dropping out and Shenai Lendill shifting into the second row.

Roxy Murdoch-Masila shifts into the front row with Tara McGrath-West reverting to the interchange and Jamilee Bright to miss a week due to neck soreness. 

Dragons Round 2 NRLW Team List

1. Teagan Berry - sponsored by Professionals Padstow

2. Margot Vella - sponsored by Classic

3. Keele Browne - sponsored by Deicorp

4. Bobbi Law - sponsored by CBC Group

5. Cortez Te Pou - sponsored by HWL Ebsworth

6. Tyla Nathan-Wong - sponsored by TripADeal

7. Raecene McGregor (c) - sponsored by SMAI

8. Angelina Teakaraanga-Katoa - sponsored by St.George Bank

9. Renee Targett - sponsored by EFEX

10. Roxy Murdoch-Masila - sponsored by University of Wollongong

11. Sara Sautia - sponsored by KFC

12. Shenai Lendill - sponsored by Coca-Cola

13. Alexis Tauaneai - sponsored by Gearbox


14. Kaarla Cowan - sponsored by Vili's Pies

15. Ella Koster - sponsored by HSE Global

16. Tara McGrath-West - sponsored by Victor Sports Club Supplies

17. Maddison Weatherall - sponsored by Carlton United Breweries

Replacement player:

18. Zali Hopkins

Casualty Ward

  • Jamilee Bright (neck, Rd 3)
Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners