You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dragons announce Round 21 NRL & Round 1 NRLW team lists

St George Illawarra Dragons NRL interim coach Ryan Carr and NRLW head coach Jamie Soward have named their respective squads for their clashes this weekend.

NRLW FINAL TEAM: The Dragons are 1-17 with Kaarla Cowan the replacement player. 

NRL FINAL TEAM: The final team list is unchanged from Tuesday. Zane Musgrove remains 18th man.

The NRL side will take on the Wests Tigers in Round 21 of the Telstra Premiership on Thursday night at WIN Stadium whilst the NRLW squad will make the trip up to McDonald Jones Stadium to face the Newcastle Knights on Saturday afternoon in Round 1 of the 2023 Telstra Women's Premiership.

Skipper Ben Hunt returns to the NRL side after playing 40 minutes for Queensland last Wednesday night.

He replaces Jayden Sullivan at halfback after the 21-year-old playmaker picked up a hamstring strain in the side’s Round 19 outing that is set to sideline him for at least six weeks.

Jaydn Su’A is also missing for the Red V after opting to undergo season-ending surgery to stabilise a shoulder subluxation that he picked up earlier in the season.

In a boost for the Dragons, Jack Bird is set to make his return from a knee complaint after two successful hit-outs at Knock On Effect Cup level whilst Tyrell Sloan returns from a calf issue that forced him to miss a game to replace Paul Turner at the back.

Dan Russell retains his spot in the side after impressing on debut against the Raiders a fortnight ago running for 66 metres and making 20 tackles in 46 minutes.

He will start at second row with Ben Murdoch-Masila ruled out due to a grade two medial ligament sprain in his left knee.

Jaiyden Hunt, Max Feagai and Ryan Couchman dropped off the reserves list in the 24-hour update.

For Soward, Raecene McGregor skippers the side at halfback with rugby sevens standout and NRLW debutant Tyla Nathan-Wong partnering her in the halves.

Teagan Berry makes the move to fullback with familiar faces Keele Browne named at centre, Tara McGrath-West up front, Renee Targett at hooker and Zali Hopkins on the interchange.

10 players will be making their club debut with Nathan-Wong, Shenai Lendill, Alexis Tauaneai, Ella Koster and Jamilee Bright also making their NRLW debuts.

Offseason recruit Bobbi Law partners Browne in the centres as she faces off against the club that she won a premiership with a season ago.

Maddison Weatherall will come off the interchange in her first NRLW appearance since October 2020.

Dragons Round 21 NRL Team List

1. Tyrell Sloan - sponsored by EFEX

2. Mathew Feagai - sponsored by Aspec Masonry

3. Moses Suli - sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports

4. Zac Lomax - sponsored by Floormania

5. Mikaele Ravalawa - sponsored by Wollongong City Jetski

6. Talatau Amone - sponsored by React Cleaning

7. Ben Hunt (c) - sponsored by Belle Property

8. Francis Molo - sponsored by UTECH

9. Jacob Liddle - sponsored by Active Forklifts

10. Blake Lawrie - sponsored by Deicorp

11. Billy Burns - sponsored by Tomkat Roofing

12. Dan Russell - sponsored by Shire Steel and Fabrication

13. Jack de Belin - sponsored by TLE Alexandria


14. Moses Mbye - sponsored by TripADeal

15. Michael Molo - sponsored by Jameson Strata Management

16. Toby Couchman - sponsored by Professionals Padstow

17. Jack Bird - sponsored by Classic Sportswear

Replacement player:

18. Zane Musgrove

Casualty Ward

  • Ben Murdoch-Masila (knee, Rd 22-23)
  • Viliami Fifita (meniscus, Rd 23-24)
  • Jayden Sullivan (hamstring, Rd 26-season)
  • Jaydn Su'A (shoulder, season)
  • Josh Coric (knee, season)
  • Cody Ramsey (illness, season)
  • Tyrell Fuimaono (hip, indefinite)

Dragons Round 1 NRLW Team List

1. Teagan Berry - sponsored by Professionals Padstow

2. Taylor Mapusua - sponsored by Classic

3. Keele Browne - sponsored by Deicorp

4. Bobbi Law - sponsored by CBC Group

5. Shenai Lendill - sponsored by HWL Ebsworth

6. Tyla Nathan-Wong - sponsored by TripADeal

7. Raecene McGregor (c) - sponsored by SMAI

8. Angelina Teakaraanga-Katoa - sponsored by St.George Bank

9. Renee Targett - sponsored by EFEX

10. Tara McGrath-West - sponsored by University of Wollongong

11. Sara Sautia - sponsored by KFC

12. Roxy Murdoch-Masila - sponsored by Coca-Cola

13. Alexis Tauaneai - sponsored by Gearbox


14. Zali Hopkins - sponsored by Vili's Pies

15. Ella Koster - sponsored by HSE Global

16. Jamilee Bright - sponsored by Victor Sports Club Supplies

17. Maddison Weatherall - sponsored by Carlton United Breweries

Replacement Player:

18. Kaarla Cowan

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners