You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Contenders announced for 2022 NRLW The Players' Champion

The Rugby League Players Association (RLPA) has announced its Contenders list for the Players’ Champion award – outlining the four players from each team in the NRLW competition who are eligible for the prestigious individual honour.

The winners of both Players’ Champion awards will be announced during Channel 9’s Grand Final coverage on October 2. The five Finalists for The Players’ Champion will be announced on September 22.

Past recipients (previously called the Elite Women’s Player of the Year) Simaima Taufa (Parramatta Eels), Sam Bremner (Sydney Roosters), and Georgia Hale (Gold Coast Titans) feature on the star-studded shortlist.

Lina Caccamo, the RLPA’s GM of Elite Women and International Relations, praised the 24 Contenders from the NRLW competition, chosen from a high quality field of players.

“Once again, NRLW players have shown the world that they have the talent, determination, skill and toughness to produce rugby league games of an elite and excellent standard.

“We don’t doubt that it was a tough job for each team to put forward four of their teammates to be Contenders for The Players’ Champion. However, the 24 players chosen are all worthy Contenders and have all made great contributions to rugby league by keeping our fans entertained and fervent in their support.

“It won’t be an easy choice for players once voting opens, but we look forward to awarding The Players’ Champion trophy to a very worthy winner.”

The Players' Champion contenders:

  • Tarryn Aiken (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Jamie Chapman (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Shenae Ciesiolka (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Julia Robinson (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Isabelle Kelly (Sydney Roosters)
  • Raecene McGregor (Sydney Roosters)
  • Keilee Joseph (Sydney Roosters)
  • Sam Bremner (Sydney Roosters)
  • Holli Wheeler (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Kezie Apps (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Page McGregor (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Tara McGrath-West (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Steph Hancock (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Shannon Mato (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Georgia Hale (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Evania Pelite (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Tamika Upton (Newcastle Knights)
  • Caitlan Johnston (Newcastle Knights)
  • Millie Boyle (Newcastle Knights)
  • Jesse Southwell (Newcastle Knights)
  • Simaima Taufa (Parramatta Eels)
  • Rikeya Horne (Parramatta Eels)
  • Ellie Johnston (Parramatta Eels)
  • Tiana Penitani (Parramatta Eels)

About The Players' Champion voting:

  • The Contenders’ list is made up of four players from each club that are nominated to be eligible for The Players’ Champion award.
  • RLPA Delegates at each Club put forward the three best players from their own team.
  • An RLPA Working Group nominates a fourth player to round out the nomination process.
  • In total, 24 players (four from each team) are eligible to receive votes in The Players’ Champion poll.
  • Voting is open to all contracted NRLW players, with each player selecting opposition players using a 3/2/1 format.
  • Players are not penalised for any suspensions and/or fines received during the course of the season.
  • Players cannot vote for their teammates or themselves.
  • The player with the most number of votes is awarded The Players’ Champion.
  • The Players’ Awards will also include a Rookie of the Year, a Dream Team, and the Dennis Tutty Award for both NRL and NRLW players.
Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners