You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NRL Telstra Women's Premiership kicks off on Saturday with the Eels and Roosters set to open the 2022 season. 

Here's all you need to know ahead of the competition's fifth year.

NRL Telstra Women's Premiership

How many teams are in the NRLW?

There are six NRLW teams for the 2022 season – Newcastle Knights, Parramatta Eels, Gold Coast Titans, Brisbane Broncos, Sydney Roosters and St George Illawarra Dragons, with squads of 24 per team. The North Queensland Cowboys, Wests Tigers, Canberra Raiders and Cronulla Sharks will enter in 2023.

Where can I find the 2022 NRLW squads?

Our signings tracker has all the information you need on player movement and retention ahead of the 2022 season. View here.

How many rounds is the NRLW this season?

The NRLW is five regular-season rounds with teams to play each other once. The 2022 draw can be viewed here.

Will there be a finals series?

Yes, the top four will advance to week six of the competition with a 1st v 4th and 2nd v 3rd format. The semi-final venue is yet to be confirmed. The winners will square off in the grand final.

Where will the 2022 grand final be played?

The location for the 2022 NRLW grand final is yet to be confirmed but will be played before the men's NRL grand final on Sunday, October 2. 

Where can I buy tickets?

Real hits. Real highlights. Unreal action. Experience all the power on the field and passion in the stands as these growing rivalries become epic contests. Tickets are available at

Where can I watch the NRLW?

If you can't get to the game, broadcast partners Channel Nine and Fox Sports will show the games live across their TV channels including Kayo and Gem. For international viewers, check your local guides.

How many minutes per half in the NRLW?

The NRLW will be played in 35-minute halves – the second season that games will be played across 70 minutes.

Is there golden point in the NRLW?

Yes, for matches other than the grand final, in the event of a draw at the conclusion of regular time, golden point will apply, with a maximum of five minutes each way and the first team to score will win.

If neither team scores during golden point, a draw will be awarded.

In the case of a requirement for golden point in the grand final, five minutes extra time each way will be played (regardless of how many points are scored).

If, after 80 minutes, the game remains a draw, unlimited golden point will be played, with no change of ends or time limit, until a point is scored to determine the winner.

How many interchanges per side during a game?

There will be a total of 10 in regular time (with two interchanges available in the case of golden point)

Does the six-again rule apply in the NRLW?

No, teams will be awarded a penalty instead of a six-again repeat set.

Are there any other rules different from the NRL?

Yes, the 40/30 and 20/50 kick advantage rules will apply in the NRLW, providing further tactical kicking and unpredictability during matches

What else will be in play during a game?

One on-field referee, NRL Bunker in use, injury surveillance - including the management of head injuries and/or concussion, judiciary procedures and shot clocks.

Why is this competition being played when there was one at the start of the year?

The delay of the 2021 competition due to the COVID-19 pandemic meant the last season played was pushed to a February start and therefore two NRLW seasons would be played in 2022.

When did the NRLW first begin? 

The first season of the NRLW began in 2018 in a history-making occasion for rugby league fans and included four inaugural teams - the Broncos, Roosters, Dragons and Warriors.

Who are the reigning champions?

The Roosters are the current champions after beating the Dragons at Moreton Daily Stadium in April. Previously, the Broncos had won three of three competitions since the NRLW began in 2018.

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners