You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The St George Illawarra Dragons have finalised their 2022 Telstra Women's Premiership roster with the signing of two additional players.

Australian Rugby Sevens Commonwealth Games silver medallist Cassie Staples and North Sydney front-rower Tara McGrath-West complete the Dragons' squad for the upcoming NRLW campaign.

Outside back Staples will make the transition to NRLW in the same ilk as her former Australian rugby sevens teammates Emma Tonegato and Page McGregor.

McGrath-West joins the squad in place of Fatafehi Hanisi who suffered a season-ending leg injury earlier in the year. Hanisi will continue her rehabilitation with the Dragons despite being unavailable for selection.

Eighteen players from the Dragons’ 2021 NRLW squad have recommitted for the upcoming season alongside six new additions.

With the full squad finalised and pre-season training now underway, Dragons NRLW coach Jamie Soward is looking forward to what's ahead.

"We're very happy with the squad after worked so diligently to pull it together," Soward said.

"We have a lot of girls returning which is a huge advantage and the new girls that joined have been fantastic early on.

"The fact we can get Cassie who is another professional athlete that is keen to dedicate herself to our club is definitely exciting.

"Tara's going to be on everyone's radar come Round 1. She's still raw but with a lot of talent and a big engine."

With an eye to the future, the Dragons have also invited 12 Women's Dragons Academy players to train with the squad for pre-season. Up to five development contracts will be allocated from this group of players for the upcoming season.

"It was something that we wanted; to develop that next generation," Soward said.

"We have some really good young talent ranging from 16-20 years old and it shows that the pathway is there and continues to grow for those wanting to be a Dragons NRLW player."

St George Illawarra Red V Women's Premiership memberships are now available. Join the team as we strive to go one step further in 2022

St George Illawarra's 2022 NRL Telstra Women's Premiership squad:

  • Elsie Albert
  • Kezie Apps
  • Shaylee Bent
  • Teagan Berry
  • Keele Browne
  • Keeley Davis
  • Quincy Dodd
  • Tegan Dymock
  • Taliah Fuimaono
  • Talei Holmes
  • Zali Hopkins
  • Tara McGrath-West
  • Page McGregor
  • Aliti Namoce-Sagano
  • Salma Nour
  • Rachael Pearson
  • Andie Robinson
  • Monalisa Soliola
  • Cassie Staples
  • Shontelle Stowers
  • Renee Targett
  • Emma Tonegato
  • Chantel Tugaga
  • Holli Wheeler

Dragons NRLW academy players: Abby Aros, Haylee Hifo, Tina Kore, Ella Koster, Mackenzie Lear, Brielle Luccitti, Madison Mulhall, Jordyn Preston, Lily Rogan, Latisha Smythe, Ula-Mari Time-Cribb, Nanise Vakacavu.

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners