You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

New Queensland Coach Billy Slater has included four debutants as part of his side for Game One of the 2022 Ampol State of Origin series to be played at Accor Stadium on June 8.

North Queensland forwards Reuben Cotter and Jeremiah Nanai have both been rewarded for their strong start to the year with selection in the side, while Broncos winger Selwyn Cobbo is also set to make his Origin debut after just 19 NRL games.

Cobbo will be joined on debut Broncos forward Patrick Carrigan with fellow Brisbane teammate Thomas Flegler also included among the reserves.

After missing last year's series with injury, Roosters prop Lindsay Collins returns to the side and is named on the bench. Titans captain Tino Fa’asuamaleaui moves to prop to replace Christian Welch, who is out with a season-ending achilles injury.

Following his strong performance at hooker in Game Three last year, Ben Hunt has again been named to start at hooker with Harry Grant listed on the bench.

Cowboys trio Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, Murray Taulagi and Thomas Dearden have all been named among the reserves as the Maroons look to win back the Ampol State of Origin shield following their 2-1 series defeat in 2021.

Queensland team for Game One

  1. Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle Knights)
  2. Selwyn Cobbo (Brisbane Broncos)
  3. Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys)
  4. Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
  5. Xavier Coates (Melbourne Storm)
  6. Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans, capt. (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
  8. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Gold Coast Titans)
  9. Ben Hunt (St. George-Illawarra Dragons)
  10. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
  11. Kurt Capewell (Brisbane Broncos)
  12. Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm)
  13. Reuben Cotter (North Queensland Cowboys)
  14. Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)
  15. Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters)
  16. Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos)
  17. Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys)
  18. Thomas Dearden (North Queensland Cowboys)
  19. Jai Arrow (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  20. Thomas Flegler (Brisbane Broncos)
  21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (North Queensland Cowboys)
  22. Murray Taulagi (North Queensland Cowboys)

Witness Australia's greatest rivalry with tickets selling fast for every game of the 2022 Ampol State of Origin series! Get yours today.

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners