You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra star Emma Tonegato is among eight fresh faces who have been named in a 24-player NSW extended squad for women’s Ampol State of Origin clash on June 24.

Sky Blues coach Kylie Hilder has included Tonegato as the Sky Blues look to reclaim the shield from Queensland at Canberra’s GIO Stadium in just over two months.

Tonegato, who along with Millie Boyle were joint Dally M medal winners earlier this month for their 2021 NRLW seasons, is yet to sign with a Harvey Norman NSW Premiership club but is expected to do so soon.

Hilder has selected 15 players from last year’s campaign while adding Tonegato, Dragons halves Taliah Fuimaono and Rachael Pearson, outside backs Jaime Chapman and Tegan Berry.

Emerging forwards Olivia Kernick and Talei Holmes have also been included while Dragons back-rower Shaylee Bent is in the mix to make a return after she was overlooked for last year’s clash.

Sarah Togatuki 's rugby league journey

The naming of the squad, a week after Queensland announced their extended group, allows for both states to prepare and manage players during the state competitions, which for NSW kicks off this weekend.

"This squad has been chosen as a reward for all the players who performed well in the recent NRLW competition," Hilder said.

"I’m looking forward to working with all the players when the final team is chosen next month."

The NSWRL will hold a City-Country fixture on the weekend of May 14 before Hilder trims her squad to 20 ahead of the trip to the nation's capital.

Among those to miss out on initial selection from last year's side include incumbent halfback Maddie Studdon and forward Kennedy Cherrington.

"There is still opportunity for other players to push their claims based on their performances in the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership, and the Country v City representative match," Hilder said.

Injured pair Botille Vette-Welsh and Brydie Parker are sidelined after suffering ACL ruptures during the NRLW season. 

NSW Women's Origin squad

  • Kezie Apps (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Corban Baxter (Sydney Roosters)
  • Shaylee Bent (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Teagan Berry (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Millie Boyle (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Jaime Chapman (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Keeley Davis (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Quincy Dodd (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Taliah Fuimaono (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Filomina Hanisi (Parramatta Eels)
  • Talei Holmes (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Isabelle Kelly (Sydney Roosters)
  • Olivia Kernick (Sydney Roosters)
  • Bobbi Law (Newcastle Knights)
  • Yasmin Meakes (Sydney Roosters)
  • Rachael Pearson (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Tiana Penitani (Parramatta Eels)
  • Jessica Sergis (Sydney Roosters)
  • Hannah Southwell (Sydney Roosters)
  • Renee Targett (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Simaima Taufa (Parramatta Eels)
  • Sarah Togatuki (Sydney Roosters)
  • Emma Tonegato (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Holli Wheeler (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners