You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tonegato named RLPA Players'  Champion

St George Illawarra Dragons fullback Emma Tonegato has been crowned The Players’ Champion, as voted by her NRLW peers.

Tonegato beat out fellow finalists Elsie Albert, Millie Boyle, Evania Pelite and Botille Vette-Welsh to take out the player-voted award. The Players' Champion voting is open to all NRLW players and is a 3-2-1 voting system.

Tonegato was announced as the Rugby League Players Association's Players' Champion live on Channel Nine during their coverage of the 2021 NRLW Grand Final in Redcliffe.

The Players' Champion voting was based on regular season games before the finals. Tonegato helped lead her Dragons side to second place on the NRLW ladder, scoring three tries, assisting three more and breaking 20 tackles in the process.

Tonegato claimed the player-voted Players' Champion honour after sharing the Dally M award with fellow Players' Champion finalist Millie Boyle.

RLPA general manager of elite women and international relations Lina Caccamo said: "We are pleased to announce Emma Tonegato as the 2021 Players’ Champion. As the premier player-voted award in the NRLW, it is a remarkable recognition for any player. Emma has absolutely excelled this season and her efforts on field have created highlights and memories that all fans will enjoy."

RLPA chief executive Clint Newton said: "Emma Tonegato's tackle on Jess Sergis was an NRLW classic moment leaving all rugby league fans wanting more. That moment and many others made her an incredibly worthy winner and the RLPA is proud to call her the 2021 Players' Champion."

The Players' Champion

Emma Tonegato (Dragons)

The Players' Rookie of the Year

Destiny Brill (Titans)

The Players' Dream Team

  1. Emma Tonegato (Dragons)
  2. Karina Brown (Titans)
  3. Jaime Chapman (Dragons)
  4. Shenae Ciesiolka (Broncos)
  5. Teagan Berry (Dragons)
  6. Taliah Fuimaono (Dragons)
  7. Rachael Pearson (Dragons)
  8. Elsie Albert (Dragons)
  9. Lauren Brown (Broncos)
  10. Millie Boyle (Broncos)
  11. Amber Hall (Broncos)
  12. Shaniah Power (Titans)
  13. Destiny Brill (Titans)
Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners