You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Live Blog: 2021 NRLW Awards

Join us throughout the night as we bring you all the latest from the black carpet and ceremony in Brisbane. 

Who will be crowned the Dally M female player of the year for the rescheduled 2021 NRLW season?

Refresh for updates

7.35pm - History has been made! Dragons fullback Emma Tonegato and Broncos prop Millie Boyle are joint winners of the 2021 NRLW Dally M female player of the year!

"Definitely was not expecting that. It's such an honour to be joined with Emma, she's really deserved it this year. I just want to give a huge congratulations and thank you to the Dragons and Roosters girls," Boyle said.

"It's going to be a great grand final. It's good to see the competition get so spicy and go to the next level."

Tonegato thanked the room and her fellow winner.

"Thank you so much for enjoying me back to the NRL. I was so nervous my first day of pre-season. It's awesome to see how far the game has come."


7.25pm - Another Dally M update after four rounds! 

Eels forward Simaima Taufa leads the vote with one round to go.

  • Simaima Taufa (Eels) - 7 points
  • Botille Vette-Welsh (Eels) - 6 points
  • Millie Boyle (Broncos) - 5 points
  • Emma Tonegato (Dragons) - 5 points

7.19pm - Most capped Jillaroo Tahnee Norris has just presented the captain of the year award to Titans skipper Brittany Breayley-Nati.

"I wasn't prepared for this," Breayley-Nati said.

"What an awesome year for the Titans being in the inaugural season. We didn't get the result we wanted but it's been a great honour."

7.15pm - Back from a dinner break and Dragons coach Jamie Soward has just taken out the coach of the year, presented by none other than his former 2010 premiership-winning coach Wayne Bennett.

"I have great admiration for what the women have done. I have been involved from the sidelines for some time with great interest. It’s an absolute privilege to be here tonight," Bennett said.

In accepting his award, Soward said, "There’s a lot of powerful women in the room. I’m very proud and privilege to coach some of these girls at the Dragons. I appreciate the award, thank you."

6.55pm - We've got a Dally M leaderboard after three rounds!

  • Simaima Taufa (Eels) - 7 points
  • Botille Vette-Welsh (Eels) - 6 points
  • Millie Boyle (Broncos) - 5 points
  • Tamika Upton (Broncos) - 4 points

6.50pm - Our Veronica White medal nominees - Karina Brown, Simaima Taufa, Jocelyn Kelleher and Tallisha Harden - are on stage alongside Veronica White. 

6.44pm - Dragons fullback Emma Tonegato has won the tackle of the year award after running down Roosters centre Jessica Sergis in round five.

"I was in the back of the scrum when I saw Jess start to make the break on the edge," Tonegato said when accepting the award.

"I knew how fast she was so knew I had to get on my bike to get there."

Tonegato's classic cover defence wins tackle of the year

6.38pm - Titans back-rower Shaniah Power has taken out the try of the year award for her stunning effort against the Broncos in round four!

"A shock and an honour, I'm very grateful. I just thought I didn't want to get caught and didn't want anyone to catch me. I saw Chelsea Lenarduzzi and thought, not going that way!"

Power's brilliant solo effort wins try of the year

6.22pm - NRL CEO Andrew Abdo welcomes the guests to the ceremony. 

"Tonight is about greatness, exceptional performance, the best and fairest but mainly about the concept of greatness," Abdo tells the room.

"Greatness is often built off solid foundation and that allows you to get to unlimited heights into the future."

6.15pm - An opening performance by none other than award-winning musician Dami Im, who sings Gladiator.

6pm - We're about to get underway!

5.30pm - Guests have started to arrive for the NRL Women's Premiership awards at Howard Smith Wharves in Brisbane, taking in the scenic views and walking the black carpet.


The 2021 NRL Women's Premiership awards

The women's Dally M medal is awarded on a 3-2-1 voting system. 

Previous winners include Ali Brigginshaw (2020), Jessica Sergis (2019) and Brittany Breayley-Nati (2018).

Prior to the introduction of the NRLW, three Dally M medals were awarded between 2015-2017 to players based on their international performances.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by NRLW (@nrlw)

Those winners were Jenni-Sue Hoepper (2015), Kezie Apps (2016) and Simaima Taufa (2017), who all played for the Jillaroos. 

Other awards on the night include coach of the year, captain of the year, try of the season and tackle of the season. 

Stay tuned for live updates and refresh this page throughout the night!

Broncos captain Ali Brigginshaw was voted the Dally M medal winner in 2020.
Broncos captain Ali Brigginshaw was voted the Dally M medal winner in 2020. ©Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos
Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners