You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
McInnes wins second consecutive Dragons Medal

Moments after finding out he was named in the 2020 New South Wales State of Origin squad, St George Illawarra hooker Cameron McInnes has been named as the Dragons' Player of the Year medallist for the second straight season.

The first-year captain McInnes was duly rewarded for his outstanding performances in a season where he shared his time on field between hooker and lock. 

McInnes also topped the competition's tackle count despite missing the opening two matches of the Dragons' campaign due to a leg injury suffered at February's Perth Nines.

Newcastle Knights-bound back-rower Tyson Frizell finished his Dragons career on a high after winning the Immortals Trophy for the first time.

Frizell was selected by the coaching staff in consideration of the Immortals criteria: demonstrating outstanding commitment and dedication in all aspects of rugby league.

Frizell departs the Red V having won every available performance-based award throughout his eight-year tenure.

Playmaker Adam Clune was named the Geoff Selby Memorial Trophy winner for the selflessness and commitment demonstrated throughout his debut season, such characteristics former Dragons prop Selby showcased prior to his tragic death in 1989.

Departing Dragons utility Tristan Sailor was the recipient of the Mark Coyne Trophy for career development. Sailor recently completed a Bachelor of Commerce (majoring in public relations) at the University of Wollongong and has since commenced a Bachelor of Architectural Studies at University of New South Wales.

The Community Involvement Award was not awarded in 2020 due to the Covid-19 enforced protocols preventing any players from participating in any Dragons Community activities, beyond their commitment to the club's local junior blitz and the Dragons' bushfire relief tour of the south coast earlier in the year.

The Red V Members' Player of the Year as well as the awards pertinent to the Dragons' upcoming NRL Telstra Women's Premiership campaign will be named at a later date.

Dragons Player of the Year Medal recipients:

2020: Cameron McInnes
2019: Cameron McInnes
2018: Tariq Sims
2017: Gareth Widdop
2016: Tyson Frizell
2015: Leeson Ah Mau
2014: Ben Creagh
2013: Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh 
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier and Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners