You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Never Before, Never Again podcast - Episode 1

The start of an unprecedented era - 1956. 

1956 began an incredible 11 straight premierships for the St George Dragons, creating a piece of sporting history that has never happened again.

In the first episode of the Never Before Never Again host and sports presenter Tim Gilbert chats with sport historian, author and Dragons tragic Geoff Armstrong about the rise of the Dragons and what rugby league was like as the Red V started a unique chapter in sporting history.

The St George DRLFC has been a part of the rugby league premiership for 100 seasons, beginning on St George’s Day, April 23, 1921, and continuing as St George Illawarra from 1999 to the present day.

In that time, the club has built a unique and continuous history — highlighted by its 11 straight premierships from 1956 to 1966 that has made the iconic white-and-red jumper one of the most recognisable and treasured insignia in Australian sport.

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners