You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
McInnes, Sergis named Dragons' Player of the Year

St George Illawarra hooker Cameron McInnes was the big winner at the Dragons' annual presentation evening after receiving three awards, including the prestigious Dragons Player of the Year Medal.

McInnes was also a resounding winner of the Red V Members' Player of the Year award and the Geoff Selby Memorial Trophy for his respected, industrious efforts over the past season – characteristics Selby showcased prior to his tragic death in 1989.

Jessica Sergis was named the Dragons' second-ever NRL Holden Women's Premiership Player of the Year following her barnstorming performances for the Red V in 2019.

Sergis – who was named 2019 Dally M Female Player of the Year last week – was duly rewarded for her consistent domination of the Women's Premiership competition.

Young front-rower Blake Lawrie was awarded the Dragons' Immortals Trophy, an award selected by the coaching staff in consideration with the Immortals criteria of demonstrating outstanding commitment and dedication in all aspects of rugby league.

In the face of adversity, Lawrie featured in 23 of the Dragons' 24 NRL games in season 2019 – more than doubling his career first grade games in the process.

Women's Premiership fullback Botille Vette-Welsh proved a revelation for Daniel Lacey's team in 2019. A nominee for the Dally M Female Player of the Year, Vette-Welsh was bestowed the NRLW Coach's Award

After being named a Ken Stephen Medal finalist, Dragons five-eighth Corey Norman won the Community Involvement Award for his commitment to the club's grassroots programs and his volunteer work with Pass It On Clothing and Co – a company which takes clothing donations directly to those in need.

Canterbury Cup playmaker Adam Clune was the recipient of the Mark Coyne Trophy for career development. Clune recently completed a double Bachelor of Commerce (Finance)/Bachelor of Law degree with distinction at the University of Wollongong.

Young Dragons fullback Cody Ramsey won the Paul McGregor Trophy as the Under-20s Player of the Year, while Jackson Ford and Lachlan Timm were awarded the Dragons' Canterbury Cup NSW Player of the Year and Canterbury Cup Coach's Award respectively.

Retiring front-rower Jeremy Latimore and departing skipper Gareth Widdop were recognised at the event held at Pyrmont's Doltone House. Both men received a framed collage that included photos throughout their respective careers.

St George legend and current Dragons board member Craig Young was also formally awarded a Hall of Fame ring following his induction in August.

Dragons Player of the Year Medal recipients:

2019: Cameron McInnes
2018: Tariq Sims
2017: Gareth Widdop
2016: Tyson Frizell
2015: Leeson Ah Mau
2014: Ben Creagh
2013: Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh 
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier and Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Dragons NRLW Player of the Year

2019: Jessica Sergis
2018: Holli Wheeler

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners