You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sims, Wheeler win Dragons' Players of the Year

St George Illawarra back-rower Tariq Sims has won the prestigious Dragons Player of the Year Medal at the club's annual presentation evening on Wednesday.

The 2018 New South Wales Origin debutant Sims was awarded the honour from both his peers and the coaching staff, in a season that also saw him selected in the Rugby League Player Association's Team of the Year.

Dragons' Women's Premiership back-rower Holli Wheeler capped off a memorable season which included NSW Origin, Prime Minister's XIII and Jillaroos selection by being named the club's inaugural NRLW Player of the Year.

The history-making Wheeler was determined the Dragons' Women's Premiership Player of the Year following her starring performances throughout the three-game campaign in consultation with the coaching staff and senior players.

Leeson Ah Mau was the recipient of the Geoff Selby Memorial Trophy.  Selby was a hardworking and respected Dragon who was tragically killed in a car accident in 1989; characteristics the Samoan and New Zealand international exhibited throughout his tenure at the Red V.

Dual New Zealand international Honey Hireme was bestowed the NRLW Coach's Award – the experience and leadership she provided the Dragons' maiden Women's Premiership proving invaluable in skipper Sam Bremner's injury absence.

Representative back-rower Tyson Frizell was voted as the Red V Members' Player of the Year for his efforts and contribution throughout the 2018 Telstra Premiership season.

Dragons skipper Gareth Widdop was awarded the Dragons' Immortals Trophy, an award selected by the coaching staff in consideration with the Immortals criteria of demonstrating outstanding commitment and dedication in all aspects of rugby league.

2018 recruit Jeremy Latimore was the recipient of the Mark Coyne Trophy for career development. The veteran prop completed a Cert IV in Mortgage Brokering and a Cert IV in New Small Business and has since commenced work experience in mortgage brokering.

Young front-rower Josh Kerr won the Community Involvement Award as the club's indigenous player representative and for his work in helping launch the Dragons' Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP).

Young Dragons centre Matheson Johns won the Paul McGregor Trophy as the Under-20s Player of the Year, while Reece Robson and Mitchell Allgood took home the Dragons' Intrust Super Premiership (ISP) Player of the Year and the ISP Coach's Award respectively.

The retiring Jason Nightingale was also recognised at the event held at Pyrmont's Doltone House. The one-club legend received a framed collage that included photos of moments throughout his illustrious 266-game career, including the Dragons' 2010 grand final victory.

Dragons Player of the Year Medal recipients:

2018: Tariq Sims
2017: Gareth Widdop
2016: Tyson Frizell
2015: Leeson Ah Mau
2014: Ben Creagh
2013: Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh 
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier and Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Dragons NRLW Player of the Year

2018: Holli Wheeler

Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners

View All Partners