You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

St George Illawarra Dragons lock Trent Merrin has been named in the NRL All-Stars team to compete at Cbus Super Stadium, Robina on Friday, February 13.

The NSW Blues Origin player will make his NRL All-Stars debut against the Indigenous All-Stars and is part of a 20-man squad selected by Head Coach Wayne Bennett.

Furthermore, Dragons National Youth Competition team Head Coach Ben Hornby has additionally been selected as Assistant Coach for the fixture.

“I am absolutely wrapped that I’ve got the privilege of playing in the All-Stars games,” said Merrin

“Paul McGregor pulled me to the side and gave me the good news and the butterflies soon built up in me.

“It’s a great chance for myself to play alongside and against some of the great players of the game.

“I’m looking forward to being a part of the match as well as getting amongst the community activities which have been planned.

“It is also great to be sharing the experience with a familiar face in Ben Hornby who will also benefit having the opportunity to coach in a new environment.”

Head Coach Bennett said he wanted to ensure his side featured a good mix of the game’s up-and-comers as well as the stalwarts in the fifth instalment of the pre-season fan-favourite hit-out.

“We have some young guys who proved themselves last season and have a fantastic career ahead of them, combined with those who have a strong representative background,” said Bennett.

“I look forward to our players being part of the whole week of All Stars activities and community events and I commend them for their ongoing commitment to the All Stars concept, which continues to make a real difference to the lives of many Australians.”



1. Matt Moylan

Penrith Panthers

2. Manu Vatuvei

New Zealand Warriors

3. Jarrod Croker

Canberra Raiders

4. Dylan Walker

South Sydney Rabbitohs

5. Antonio Winterstein

North Queensland Cowboys

6. Kieran Foran

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

7. Mitchell Pearce

Sydney Roosters

8. James Graham

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

9. Michael Ennis

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

10. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Sydney Roosters

11. Beau Scott (c)

Newcastle Knights

12. Jason Taumololo

North Queensland Cowboys

13. Paul Gallen

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

14. Jesse Bromwich

Melbourne Storm

15. Luke Brooks

Wests Tigers

16. Will Hopoate

Parramatta Eels

17. Trent Merrin

St George Illawarra Dragons

18. Corey Parker

Brisbane Broncos

19. Jeremy Smith

Newcastle Knights

20. Dave Taylor

Gold Coast Titans


Acknowledgement of Country

St George Illawarra Dragons respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders peoples, where our games are played, our programs are conducted and in the communities we support.

Major Partner

Apparel Partners

Icon Partners