You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Energise program

The St George Illawarra Dragons, in conjunction with the University of Wollongong (UOW), proudly launched the Energise: believe, lead, succeed program at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah in 2016.

The objectives of the Energise: believe, lead, succeed program are to:

  • Increase the number of students aspiring to undergo University study
  • Encourage students to achieve their full leadership potential through inspiring role models from UOW and the Dragons
  • Equip students with study skills as they undertake the senior years of high school
  • Provide goal setting workshops identifying personal strengths and career ambitions, and;
  • Introduce self-belief and resilience strategies

Both the Dragons and UOW have a longstanding partnership with one another having formalised their association in 2009, committing under a Memorandum of Understanding to collaboratively pursue positive outcomes for both organisations regarding research, scholarships, community programs, internships, promotions and facility use.

The Dragons presently have 10 players studying at the tertiary institution under the Graduates of League banner, a program founded by Dragons legend Ben Creagh in conjunction with the Athlete Education Foundation in 2012.


Euan Aitken

B. Exercise Science

Tristan Sailor

B. Commerce


Nathan Leatigaga

B. Social Science


Bailey Antrobus

B. Commerce

Ben Arandt

B. Business

Aidan Gaffey

B. Laws

Zach Herring

B. Health and Physical Education

Tarje Whitford

B. Commerce


Syddarys Cassidy

B. Business

Jye Patterson

B. Engineering

The program, piloted by the Dragons and UOW, aims to increase university entry, retention and completion rates among elite athletes and professional sports people.


The Energise program was originally implemented in St George District secondary schools.

In 2018, the program expanded to the Liverpool District with secondary schools from the area invited by UOW to participate in the program at their Liverpool campus.

Since inception in 2016 the following schools have been involved:

  • Al Sadiq College
  • Bankstown Girls High School
  • Bethany College
  • Beverly Hills Girls High School
  • Blakehurst High School
  • Canley Vale High School
  • Casula High School
  • Danebank Anglican School for Girls
  • Fairfield High School
  • Fairvale High School
  • Georges River College Oatley
  • Green Valley Islamic College
  • Holsworthy High School
  • James Cook Boys Technology High School
  • John Edmondson High
  • Kingsgrove North High School
  • Kogarah High School
  • Liverpool Girls
  • Marist College Kogarah,
  • Marist Catholic College Penshurst
  • Moorefield Girls High School
  • Patrician Brothers Fairfield
  • Sir Joseph Banks High School
  • St Charbel's College
  • St George Girls High School
  • St Mary's Star of the Sea College
  • St Mary and St Mina's Coptic Orthodox College
  • St Narsai Assyrian Christian College
  • Sydney Boys Technical School


The Energise: believe, lead, succeed program is proudly supported by the St George Illawarra Dragons and the University of Wollongong.