Main content
Homepage

Venue Information


WIN Jubilee Oval Kogarah

 

Please click for Conditions of Entry to WIN Jubilee Oval and information on the hill at WIN Jubilee Oval, Kogarah

History

It was in front of 12,500 fans on April 22, 1950 that the Dragons first played on Kogarah’s Jubilee Oval. Although losing to Souths 17-15 after a failed penalty goal attempt after the bell, it was the start of a love affair between the Football Club and this famous ground.

Renovations started almost immediately for the increasing number of supporters coming to watch the Dragons play. More renovations would take place ready for the 1990 season when the Dragons would come back “home” after an absence of several years, with a new grandstand built on the western side of the ground.

The first ever semi-final was played at Jubilee Oval on August 29, 1998, where the Dragons would go down 20-12 to the Bulldogs in front of 16,833 fans. It was also the last time the club would play as the St George Dragons, as in 1999 the club became the St George Illawarra Dragons. The new club adopted two home grounds: Jubilee Oval, Kogarah, and WIN Stadium, Wollongong.

2009 marked another return to Jubilee Oval after a year of additional renovations. The stadium now boasts new corporate facilities and seating for all St George-Illawarra season ticket holders. The capacity of the ground stands at approximately 20,500 making it ideal for Rugby League, and is sure to maintain its spiritual relationship with the St George-Illawarra Dragons.

WIN Jubilee Oval can be found on the Corner of Princes Highway and Jubilee Avenue, Kogarah.

 

WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Please click for Conditions of Entry to WIN Stadium, Wollongong

History

Positioned overlooking the Pacific Ocean, WIN Stadium is situated at the eastern end of Wollongong CBD. WIN Stadium is designed as a multi purpose facility with the ability to host a variety of sporting or special events. The venue now has a total capacity of around 19,000.

The Stadium started life as the Wollongong Showground hosting agricultural shows and greyhound racing. Rugby League was played in the middle, which was referred to as the “village green”, from 1911. The Illawarra Steelers entered the First Grade competition in 1982 and called the showground their home. In 1988 the Steelers and the Showground Trust converted the ground into a rectangle and in 1992 built the Southern Grandstand. WIN TV (a loyal Partner of both the Steelers and the St George Illawarra Dragons) was given naming rights to the ground in 1997, and this agreement continues today.

WIN Stadium has three main grandstands on its Western, Southern and Northern sides. Opposite the Western Stand is the picturesque grass hill. The Northern Grandstand was added to the Stadium in 2002, with two levels of seating and fantastic corporate facilities.

Click here for more information on the specifications of WIN Stadium, Wollongong.

WIN Stadium can be found on Harbour Street opposite the Steelers Club and next door to the WIN Entertainment Centre.